The Tamil Nadu state government have announced a list of winners for the prestigious Kalaimamani Awards. After a break of 8 years, the awards are back and 201 artists made the cut.

12 artists were awarded the prestigious Kalaimamani award for their contribution to the Tamil film industry, including Vijay Sethupathi, Srikanth, Karthi, Sasikumar, Vijay Antony, Prasanna, Santhanam, Soori, Yuvan Shankar Raja, Priya Mani. Cinematographers Rathnavelu and Ravi Varman and were also conferred with the award.


The state government also introduced three other awards this year, the Bharati award in the field of literature, the Bala Saraswathi award in the field of dance and the MS Subbulakshmi award in the field of music.

Singers S Janaki, C Saroja, C Lalitha and TV Gopalakrishnan were awarded MS Subbulakshmi award for their contributions in the field of music.