The 11th edition of popular Edison Awards took place in Chennai earlier today (February 26). The annual Edison award honours the best performances in the Tamil film industry every year.

Mersal and Velaikkaran are two of the big winners at this edition of the Edison awards.

People’s hero Sivakrathikeyan bagged the Favourite Actor award, after winning hearts of fans and critics with his performance in Velaikkaran. Velaikkaran also landed Anirudh with the Best Music Director Award.

Atlee picked up the Best Director Award for Mersal. 

Arun Prabhu’s critically-acclaimed brainchild, Aruvi, snagged some important awards too.

Here are the complete list of winners this year: 

Favourite Actor: Sivakarthikeyan

Related image

Best Film: Velaikkaran

Best Playback Singer (Male): Sathya Prakash (Aalaporaan Thamizhan for Mersal)

Best Art Director:T Muthuraj for Mersal

Best Villain: SJ Suryah (Mersal and Spyder)

Best Dance Choreographer: Shobi Master

Best Music Director : Anirudh Ravichander (Velaikkaran)

Rising Star of the Year: Parvathi Nair

Best Lyricist: Vivek (Aalaporaan Thamizhan for Mersal)

Best Director: Atlee Kumar (Mersal)

Image result for mersal gif

Best Cinematographer: GK Vishnu (Mersal)

Best debut director: Arun Prabhu (Aruvi)

Best debut actress: Aditi Balan (Aruvi)

Face of the Year: Aditi Rao Hydari (Kaatru Veliyidai)

Image result for kaatru veliyidai gif

Best Character Role (Female): Varalaxmi Sarathkumar for Vikram Vedha